2017.12.13 19.30

Grand Hall

Péter Frankl & Kelemen Quartet

At home in the Liszt Academy

Péter Frankl & Kelemen Quartet

Piano Quintet No. 1 in C minor, Op. 1
Piano Quintet No. 2 in E-flat minor, Op. 26
Sextet in C major, Op. 37
Péter Frankl (piano) Ákos Ács (clarinet), Zoltán Szőke (horn) Kelemen Quartet: Barnabás Kelemen, Katalin Kokas (violin); Gábor Homoki (viola); László Fenyő (cello)

Internationally renowned figures from several generations pay their respects to one of the defining personalities of 20th century Hungarian music, the conductor, composer and pianist Ernő Dohnányi on the 140th anniversary of his birth. The programme – that can be seen as both a celebration of chamber music and the art of Dohnányi – opens with the momentous composition, about which Brahms himself is reported to have said: “I could not have written it better myself,” although the other piano quintet, in E-flat minor (1914), is similarly a masterpiece which fills both performers and those seated in the auditorium with the same sense of joy. The 1935 sextet instrumental line-up is unusual: two wind instruments join the string trio and piano; the clarinet and horn parts are played by Ákos Ács and Zoltán Szőke, outstanding principal instrumentalists with the Budapest Festival Orchestra.

Organizer: Liszt Academy Concert Centre

Tickets: HUF 1 400, 2 100, 3 500, 4 900, 5 600



Notable alumni


Virtual Tour

Kodály Institute

Liszt Museum