2017.12.06 19.00

Solti Hall

Szőllősy–Ligeti Recital

Here and Now

Szőllősy–Ligeti Recital

Concert for the 10th anniversary of András Szőllősy's death

Night in Kolozsvár
Tamás Ress (voice)
Cello Sonata
Barnabás Baranyai (cello)
Bernadett Fodor (voice), Kata Scheuring (flute), Fülöp Görbicz (viola)
Piano Etudes Volume 1 (selection)
Zoltán Fejérvári (piano)
Addio in Memory of György Kroó
students of the Liszt Academy
Gábor Németh (violin), László Tihanyi (Conductor)
Piano Etudes Volume 3 (selection)
Zoltán Fejérvári (piano)

“Is it possible that a composer – in all his verbal manifestations going back decades – who considers life to be a tragedy, the world to be inexplicable and oppressive chaos, who speaks about mourning and transience in nearly every single note, is still able to radiate a sense of beauty, purity, ascension and consolation through his works?” This is the question music historian János Kárpáti poses in his essay about András Szőllősy, in which he also notes that Szőllősy “is one of the most significant representatives of post-Bartók Hungarian composition, the ‘third’ master alongside György Ligeti and György Kurtág.” The concert evokes the composer and musicologist who died ten years ago; it starts with one of the few compositions of Szőllősy that survived from his earlier period, Night in Kolozsvár (1955), and winds up with the last piece he completed, Addio in Memory of György Kroó. Fragments (1985), a cycle composed for mezzosoprano, flute and viola, written to parts of poems by István Lakatos, is the focal point of the evening. Ligeti creations are interspersed between (or rather, link together) Szőllősy’s works.

Organizer: Liszt Academy Concert Centre

Tickets: HUF 1 200



Notable alumni


Virtual Tour

Kodály Institute

Liszt Museum