The training I received at the Academy was difficult and at times harsh, but those who survived the experience emerged as real musicians.

Sir Georg Solti

Hubay Prize – In memory of Dénes Kovács

5 October 2021

The Violin Sub-Department of the Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music announces a competition for MA students, to be held on 9 April 2022. The winner will receive the Hubay Prize. The competition will take place at the Solti Hall.

The competition, which once was held every year, was revived in the 1970s by Dénes Kovács, on the model of the Reményi and Hubay Prizes.

With this competition we pay our respect to the memory of Dénes Kovács and remember his excellence as a world-renowned violinist and former president of the Liszt Academy. We announce this competition in his memory.


Competition programme for the Hubay prize:

One Hubay piece from the following:

  • op. 64 no. 2
  • op. 64 no. 5
  • Zephir (op. 30 no. 5)


  • Romance in F major, op. 50
  • Romance in G major, op. 40


  • Rondo in C major, K. 373
  • Rondo in B-flat major, K. 269

One opening movement of a violin concerto from the list below:

  • Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 2, BB 117
  • Bartók: Violin Concerto No. 1, BB 48a (both movements!)
  • Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61
  • Csajkovszkij: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35
  • Dvořák: Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 53
  • Glazunov: Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 82
  • Goldmark: Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 28
  • Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
  • Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47



Please apply by 1 February 2022 to Imola Gál, department administrator at gal.imola[at]