Taste is a negative thing. Genius affirms and always affirms.

Franz Liszt

Viola master class by Ádám Rőmer

30 September 2019

The principal violist of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra will hold lessons on 16 and 17 October.

The active participants will be the violist students of the Liszt Academy.
The master class is free of charge and open to all interested as the rooms' capacity allows. No preliminary application is necessary.

Schedule of the master class:

Wednesday 16 October 2019, Main Buliding, Room X

9.20: Mislina Bursal
Brahms: Sonata for Viola and Piano No. 1 in F minor, Op. 102/1 – 1. Allegro appassionato

10.00: Lilla Veér-Lenthár
Schumann: Märchenbilder, Op. 113 – 1. Nicht schnell, 2. Lebhaft

10.40: Boglárka Szűcs
Walton: Concerto – 1. Andante comodo

11.20: Elemér Albert
Stamitz: Viola Concerto in D major, Op. 1 – 1. Allegro

12.00: SZÜNET

13.00: Ábrahám Balázs Pattantyús
Hindemith: Viola Sonata, Op. 25/1 – 1. Breit. Viertel, 4. Rasendes Zeitmaß. Wild. Tonschönheit ist Nebensache

13.40: Annamária Horváth
Hindemith: Der Schwanendreher – 2. „Nun laube, Lindlein laube”: Sehr ruhig – Fugato: „Der Gutzgauch auf dem Zaune sass”

14.20: Viktória Sánta
Gyula Dávid: Viola Concerto – 3. Vivace

15.00: Előd Soós
Hindemith: Sonata for Viola and Piano, Op. 11/4 – 1. Fantasie, 2. Thema mit Variationen

15.40: Jessica Kindlinger
Reger: Viola Suite in G minor, Op. 131d/1


Thursday 17 October 2019, Main Building, Room X

9.20: Zoltán Sztojka
Atar Arad: Etude No. 3

10.00: Fülöp Görbicz
J. S. Bach: Violin Partita No. 3 in E major, BWV 1006 – Loure, Gavotte

10.40: Dániel Molnár
Enescu: Concertstück

11.20: Shuntaro Goto
Rebecca Clarke: Sonate

12.00: SZÜNET

13.00: János Hidas
Schubert: Sonata for Cello and Piano in A minor, D. 821 (‘Arpeggione’) – 1. Allegro moderato

13.40: Kinga Dauner
Schubert: Sonata for Cello and Piano in A minor, D. 821 (‘Arpeggione’) – 1. Allegro moderato

14.20: Péter Bor
Schumann: Märchenbilder, Op. 113

15.00: Tamás Bélik
Reger: Viola Suite in G minor, Op. 131d/1 – 1. Molto sostenuto, 2. Vivace

15.40: Anna Dorina Molnár
J. S. Bach:
Violin Partita No. 3 in E major, BWV 1006 – Menuett I-II


Ádám Rőmer was born and grew up in Hungary in a family of musicians, and began his musical studies at the age of five. After graduating from the Kodály Secondary School with the prestigious Kodály prize, he studied at the Liszt Academy of Budapest, the Glenn Gould School in Toronto and the University of Arts Of Berlin, with Loránd Fenyves, Steven Dann and Irmgard Huntgeburth.

Parallel to his studies Adam started working as principal viola at the famed Gewandhaus Orchestra, followed by the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra before joining the CBSO in 2009.

He regularly teaches at Birmingham Conservatoire, and his diverse interests in music have led him to travel around Europe with the Salomon historical string quartet and his Hungarian Folk Ensemble: Folktone band.