Technique should create itself from spirit not from mechanics.

Franz Liszt to Lina Raman

6 November 2018, 19.00-21.00

Solti Hall


J. S. Bach: ‘Schafe können sicher weiden’ – aria from the cantata Was mir behagt, ist nur die muntre Jagd!
Bartók: Out of Doors, BB 89
Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 31 in A-flat major, Op. 110


Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 18 in G major, D. 894


László Baranyay (piano)

Bach, Bartók and Beethoven works ring out in the first half of László Baranyay’s recital. The concert opens with an arrangement of an aria from the so-called Hunting Cantata, and this is followed by Bartók transcriptions of Romanian Christmas melodies and five movements from the Out of Doors series, including the famous Night music inspired by the sounds of nature. Then comes Beethoven’s penultimate sonata (opus 110), the third movement of which has a fascinating, integrated structure: the fugue is introduced by an instrumental recitativo and an arioso evoking a Bach Passion, and then in the wake of the repeated arioso the calque version of the fugue leads to the concluding section. The second half of the recital is devoted to the four-movement G major sonata of Schubert written in 1826. This was the last sonata to appear in print in the composer’s lifetime. Robert Schumann felt that this was the most perfect of Schubert’s sonatas and Sviatoslav Richter also picked this as his favourite.

Presented by

Liszt Academy Concert Centre


HUF 1 900, 2 500